Cassiopeia Winds Autumn Tour 2023

Thanks to a very generous touring award from The Arts Council, Cassiopeia Winds are looking forward to sharing some wonderful wind music with audiences in seven venues around Ireland:

Monday 11 September at 7.30pm – The Civic Theatre Tallaght

Tickets €18, €16 concessions, Early Bird €14

Box Office 01 4627477, and on line

Thursday 14 September at 8pm – Music in Calary Calary Church, A98 H766

Tickets €18, €15 concessions

Booking 01 2818118 or email

Saturday 16 September at 3pm – The Source Arts Centre, Thurles

Tickets €15, €12 Early Bird

Box Office 0504 90204, and on line

Wednesday 27 September at 8.30pm – Riverbank Arts Centre, Newbridge

Tickets €18, €15 concessions

Box Office 045 448327, and on line

Saturday afternoon 30 September at 3.30pm – Wexford Arts Centre

Tickets €16, €14 concessions

Box Office 053 912 3764, and on line

Saturday 7 October at 8pm – Birr Theatre and Arts Centre

Tickets €18, €16 (plus booking fee €2)

Box Office 057 9122911, and online

Saturday 14 October at 8pm – The Dock, Carrick on Shannon

Tickets €16, €12 early bird and concession

Box Office: 071 965 0828, and on line


Quintette en ut         Claude Arrieu

Pavane pour une infante défunte         Maurice Ravel

Quintette N°.1 Jean         Françaix


Le Tombeau de Couperin         Maurice Ravel

Novelette         Francis Poulenc

Dix-sept Variations         Jean-Michel Damase

About the programme

Cassiopeia’s programme is unashamedly melodic, and pays homage to the French origins of wind chamber music with the foundation of La Société de Musique de Chambre pour Instruments à Vent in 1879. While the choice of music may have France as a common theme, they are not shying away from the more modern day sound world: showcasing the work of composers who lived between the years of 1875 and 2013. This is represented in the broadly diverse styles of music performed.

Cassiopeia Winds is a group of five of Ireland’s top wind players committed to sharing their passion for the superb wind quintet repertoire with audiences throughout Ireland.

The players inspire and refresh their audiences by their infectious enthusiasm for the music they are playing. Member of the group introduce each piece in the programme, engaging with and developing a rapport with their audience, drawing them in so that

they feel almost like a sixth member of the group.

Cassiopeia Winds are:

Catriona Ryan – Flute

Matthew Manning – Oboe

Deirdre O’Leary – Clarinet

John Hearne – Bassoon

Cormac Ó hAodáin – French Horn